Clinton dashes past Royals

  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 906.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_argument::init() should be compatible with views_handler::init(&$view, $options) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 744.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_submit() should be compatible with views_handler::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter_boolean_operator::value_validate() should be compatible with views_handler_filter::value_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 159.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_validate() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_validate(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/ on line 134.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_submit(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/ on line 134.
Collin Poore (21) and the Redskins pulled away from the Royals for a big 39-14 victory and an undefeated 2-0 record. Photo by Tom Culler.

Clinton High School’s varsity football team traveled to Blissfield on Thursday, Aug. 30, and returned home with a 39-14 victory over the Royals.

The Redskins took an early lead that they never let go of before securing their second consecutive victory. TJ Baker opened up scoring with a 49-yard touchdown pass to Cullen Zimmerman in the opening quarter.

Zimmerman hauled in two touchdown passes of 52- and 49-yards from Baker while Brett Tschirhart scored on a one-yard run. Colin Poore scored two TDs on runs of 2- and 15-yards, while Mathew Sexton hauled in a 50-yard touchdown pass from Baker.

Clinton’s Dylan Spurlock caught a 2-point conversion pass and placekicker Gannon Nelson converted one extra point kick.

Poore led the Redskins’ rushing with 75 yards on 11 carries.

Baker (5-35), Mike Sexton (1-3), Tschirhart (6-39), Jared Sackett (2-28) and Mathew Sexton (3-35) added rushing yards.

Baker completed 8-of-10 passes for 207 yards and three touchdowns. Zimmerman led in receptions with three for 106-yards. Poore (1-5), Sackett (1-39), Hunter Pizzo (1-5), Mike Mitopoulos (1-10) and Mathew Sexton (1-50) added reception yardage.

Offensive lineman Grant Clark and Grant Holbrook were credited by coach Scott McNitt for consistent blocking.

Clinton totaled 415-yards of total offense.

Defensively, Tschirhart led in tackles with 12. Also adding tackles were Clinton’s Baker (6 tackles, 2 interceptions), Luke Lovejoy (3), Zimmerman (5), Mike Sexton (10, forced fumble, fumble recovery), Sackett (2), Reid Clark (2), Poore (3), Kyle Perry (4), Mistopoulos (4), Mathew Sexton (7), Jacob Brassfield (3), Foster Griffin (11), Grant Clark (6), Nate Kaszuba (7), Keegan Ward (2), Zach Amsdill (4), Dylan Spurlock (8), Hunter Pizzo (4) and Kamden Ward (2).

Clinton’s offensive player of the week was Cullen Zimmerman while Mike Sexton was named defensive player.

Special teams player went to Mathew Sexton while Luke Lovejoy was named Red Army player of the game.

Clinton travels to Britton-Deerfield on Friday for a Tri-County Conference contest beginning at 7 p.m.

Copyright © 2015
Herald Publishing Company
Surf New Media