Deadly car crash claims lives of two Britton graduates

Early Saturday morning, Sept. 15, at the intersection of U.S. 12 and M-50, a collision of a Mercury Mountaineer SUV with a tractor-trailer killed the driver of the SUV and one passenger and sent a second passenger to the hospital with serious injuries. Amanda Kerry Mullins, 20, of Britton and Andrew Ray Bailey, 21, of Clinton were thrown 35 to 40 feet from the vehicle and declared dead at the scene of the accident.Crystal Renee Kurowicki, 20, of Tecumseh survived the collision and was flown by helicopter to University of Toledo Medical Center. John Edward West, 59, of Butler, Indiana, was the driver of the semi. He and his passenger were treated at the scene for their injuries.Mullins, who was traveling southbound on M-50, drove through a blinking red light without applying her brakes, according to Cambridge Township Police Chief Larry Wibbeler. The semi was westbound on U.S. 12 when the crash happened at 2:08 a.m. The Mountaineer struck the side of the semi near the gas tank before becoming airborne, landing on the northwest corner of the intersection and bursting into flames.“There is no indication of alcohol being involved,” said Wibbeler. His department is waiting for toxicology reports, which, according to Wibbeler, will take some time.U.S. 12 was closed until 11 a.m. on Saturday to clean up steel coils that were blocking the roadway after the tractor-trailer was knocked on its side in the accident. In addition to Cambridge Township Police, Lenawee County’s accident investigation team, Lenawee County Sheriff’s Department and Michigan State Police officers also responded to the accident.Mullins, Bailey, and Kurowicki were all graduates of Britton Macon High School.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content