Editorial: Vote Yes on Proposals 1 and 2

The millage campaign for the Tecumseh District Library (TDL) comes to a close this next week as voters on Tuesday, May 7, will decide the outcome of two proposals:One for renewal of 1.15 mills and the second for additional funding of .2 mills. The millage, if approved, will provide vital revenue for the next 10 years to maintain the current level of services and programs at the library. The TDL has operated for the past decade on the 1.15 mill levy, approved by voters in 2003. During those 10 years, the library faced increasing maintenance and operating costs, while simulataneously receiving less tax revenue due to declines in property values. The library board and administrators have demonstrated responsible stewardship of the facility and respect for district taxpayers by maintaining services and resources without asking for more tax dollars. They managed to do this during a time when all statistics showed incredible growth in library visits, circulation, programs and computer use. The library was able to face the challenge of lower tax revenues through staff cuts and cost-saving measures.Fast forward from 2003 to 2013. The reality, after 10-years of reliance on 1.15 mills, which represents 82 percent of the library’s budget, is that renewal of the millage is not only necessary, but vital to keep the library doors open. The .2 mill proposal would add approximately $100,000 annually to the library’s funding.For the average homeowner, the cost of the additional .2 mills would be $10.14 annually. With the renewal of 1.15 mills, homeowners would be supporting the library, on average, an amount of $67.50 each year.Passage of both proposals will be a win-win for the Tecumseh District Library and every resident in the district.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content