Final stats have Indians breaking team records

The final statistic sheets have been totaled for the 2012-2013 Tecumseh varsity football season and the Indians surpassed their top numbers in several categories to set new season records.Tecumseh head coach Al Romano said he wasn’t aware of how well the Indians had done until having his statistician, Craig Freestone, crunch the season’s final numbers. The final tally in several categories outdid the Indians’ previous totals.“We had a lot of accomplishments this year, and they have a lot to be proud of,” Romano said right after finishing the season in the regional final.He was very pleased with the direction the overall program was heading. “We had a freshmen team that was 7-2, a JV team that was 7-2 and this group right here won nine football games,” he said. “I don’t know if we can ask any more than that. I think a lot of people surprised a lot of people.”The final totals certainly surprised a lot of folks with the Indians scoring more points and touchdowns than ever before.Tecumseh broke its points scored record with 404 while scoring a record 59 touchdowns. The Indians tallied a whopping 4,614 offensive yards to set a new record.In addition, the Indians set the new passing completions record with 163 and passing touchdown record with 27.At the end of the season banquet, the Most Valuable Player award went to quarterback Ben Dreslinski.The Coaches Award went to John Terry while the Most Improved Player award went to Spencer Hite.Dreslinski set three individual records, the most completed passes in a season with 162, the most touchdown passes in a game with five and the passing touchdown record with 27.Spencer Adams set the new record for Most Receptions in a Game with nine and the Most Touchdowns Receiving with 11.Many of the Indians players were recognized for their efforts at the end of the season.The Southeastern Conference (SEC) White Division listings included 17 Indians. Named to the SEC first team offense were Tecumseh’s Casey Hunt, Dreslinski, Spencer Adams, Joey Rebottaro and Alex Spiteri.Honorable mentions went to RJ Walch, Spencer Hite and Eric Eldred.Named to the first team defense were Tecumseh’s John Terry, Kyle Bryan, Nick Coffin, Preston Pelham and Chris Dorobantu.Honorable mentions went to Stephen Bloxam, Devin Moore and Charlie Haesler.A SEC Sportsmanship award went to Anthony Ialacci.The Associated Press All-state first team in Division 3-4 selected Dreslinski while an honorable mention went to Preston Pelham.The Detroit Free Press named Terry to its first team while an honorable mention went to Dreslinski.The Detroit News selected Dreslinski to its first team Dream Team while Pelham received an honorable mention.Tecumseh finished 9-3 overall and 4-1 in the SEC White Division with a close 26-24 loss to Battle Creek Harper Creek in the regional championship.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

Please Login for Premium Content