Four Indians earn All-State wrestling honors

Four Tecumseh High School wrestlers earned All-State honors at the Michigan High School Athletic Association’s Division II Individual State finals at the Palace of Auburn Hills, Saturday, March 2.Finishing in the Top 8 of their respective weight classes gave Tecumseh senior Joe Rebottaro (285), juniors Ricky Azelton (103) and Preston Pelham (215), and freshman Landon Pelham (189) All-State honors.Tecumseh’s head coach Tony Greathouse said that Landon Pelham made history by becoming the first ever freshman to earn All-State honors in the Indian’s wrestling program.Landon Pelham won his first round match by pinning Dakota Sherrick of Greenville (4:33) before losing by decision (18-14) to Ryan Casey of Niles in the quarterfinals. He then went 2-2 in the consolation bracket to finish sixth in the state at 189-pounds. Landon Pelham defeated Hunter McCoy of Dearborn Heights Annapolis by Major Decision (16-6) and Cameron Stoel of Hamilton by decision (9-4) before losing by pin (2:14) to the eventual third place finisher, Mike Hovater of Chelsea.Landon Pelham finished his historic season with a new Tecumseh High School freshman record of 47-13.Rebottaro placed fifth at 285-pounds to improve on his eighth place finish last year. Rebottaro won his first two matches of the tournament, defeating Wade Stacey of Vicksburg by Major Decision (14-3) and Billy Belcher of Spring Lake 2-1 in overtime to advance to the championship semifinals. After advancing, he lost 5-3 in overtime to Trent Hurd of Eaton Rapids. Rebottaro then went 1-1 in the consolation bracket to finish fifth overall, losing 3-2 in overtime to Colton Pfaendtner of Saint Clair but defeating Billy Belcher of Spring Lake 6-1 in overtime.Rebottaro went 48-11 during his final season with the Indians.Also finishing fifth for the Indians was Azelton at 103-pounds. It was his first all-state honor after finishing just one match from placing at state last year. Azelton won his first match by Tech-Fall (18-1, 5:24) over Devin Bisard of Grand Rapids Kenowa Hills but was pinned (5:37) by eventual runner-up Ian Parker of Saint Johns in the quarterfinals. Azelton battled back with two straight consolation victories, 4-2 against Brandon Arend of Saint Joe and 8-4 against Michael Higley, Edwardsburg, to guarantee a Top 6 finish before falling by Major Decision (14-4) to Foster Karmon of Allegan in the consolation semifinals. Azelton won his fifth place bout (5-2) over Bryan Lavearn of Ortonville Brandon.Azelton finished the season with a record of 40-16.Junior Preston Pelham notched his first all-state honor at 215-pounds. He won his first round match by Tech-fall (18-0, 4:07) against Shane Skorupski of Spring Lake, and then lost by Major Decision (13-3) to Jordan Haggerty of Petoskey in the quarterfinals. He came back with a hard-fought win by pin in overtime against Joe Perry of Lapeer East in the consolation bracket to earn All-State honors. Pelham rounded out the tournament going 1-1 in his final two matches to finish seventh. He lost 3-1 to Chase Challender of Charlotte but defeated Jacob Alarie of Bay City Western 2-1 to place seventh.Preston Pelham finished his junior season with a record of 49-11.Tecumseh seniors Anthony Lesko and Cole Amstutz both made their second consecutive appearances at the state tournament but fell just short of placing. In addition to his opponents, Lesko (47-9) was battling a shoulder injury that plagued him the last month of the season. Despite his injury, Lesko went 1-1 in his first two 145-pound matches before losing 8-1 to Grant Sharkey of Auburn Hills Avondale in a rematch of the regional finals. Amstutz (39-12) found himself on the losing end of back-to-back nail biter matches at 160-pounds. He lost by 5-4 and 4-2 decisions.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content