Four points give Tecumseh swim team win

  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 906.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_argument::init() should be compatible with views_handler::init(&$view, $options) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 744.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_submit() should be compatible with views_handler::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter_boolean_operator::value_validate() should be compatible with views_handler_filter::value_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 159.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_validate() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_validate(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/ on line 134.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_submit(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/ on line 134.

Only four points separated Tecumseh’s varsity swim and dive team from visiting Monroe on Thursday, Dec. 20, with the Indians on the high side of the point totals at the end of the evening. Tecumseh edged Monroe 95-91.

“Going into the meet we knew it was going to be very close,” said Tecumseh head coach Deb Wolfe. “Tecumseh boys swimmers and divers did exactly what they needed to in order to pull of the win.”

Monroe placed first in the first event, the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:46.82 and followed with a first place in the 200-yard freestyle with Craig Cameron touching the wall in 1:50.34.

Jacob Kimerer was the first to win an event for Tecumseh with a first place finish in the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 24.65. Dylan Coleman placed second (24.24) for the Indians while Collin Eberle placed third (27.55).

Monroe’s Zach Nofziger won the diving event with a point total of 233.30. Tecumseh’s Shane Lewandowski placed second (203.30) while Collin Eberle was third (190.65).

Bryant Hagemann placed first for the Indians in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 1:00.62 but Monroe’s Jonathon Voelker followed with a first place in the 100-yard freestyle (50.95).

Austin Coleman won the 500-yard freestyle for Tecumseh with a time of 5:30.39.

The Indians’ 200-yard freestyle relay team of Dylan Coleman, Jacob Kimerer, Matthew Haessler and Austin Coleman placed first with a time of 1:37.42.

Monroe placed first in the 10th event of the evening, the 100-yard backstroke but second (Hagemann, 1:03.06) and third (Zach Lee, 1:13.88) place finishes helped the Indians continue piling up points for the win.

Ian Russell placed first for Tecumseh in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:04.80.

In the final event of the evening, Tecumseh’s 400-yard freestyle team of Austin Coleman, Kimerer, Hagemann and Russell placed first with a time of 3:34.59.

Copyright © 2015
Herald Publishing Company
Surf New Media