Indians edge Ypsilanti, follow with win over Monroe

  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 906.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_argument::init() should be compatible with views_handler::init(&$view, $options) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 744.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_submit() should be compatible with views_handler::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter_boolean_operator::value_validate() should be compatible with views_handler_filter::value_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/ on line 159.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_validate() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_validate(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/ on line 134.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_submit(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/ on line 134.
Tecumseh junior Hannah Galloway (34) led the Indians offense to a 41-35 win against visiting Monroe. Photo by Tom Culler.

Tecumseh’s varsity girls basketball team hit the road and pounded Ypsilanti’s net for a 59-54 Southeastern Conference victory on Tuesday, Dec. 18 and followed with a 41-35 home victory against Monroe on Friday, Dec. 21.

The Indians had a balance scoring attack against Ypsilanti with three players scoring double figures. Mattie Wright paced Tecumseh’s offense with 15 points and five assists while Hannah Galloway and Nicole Lipnichan each added 14 points.

Kayla Kormas and Hannah Galloway helped out rebound Ypsilanti 36-28 with each grabbing nine rebounds. Carley LaPlant chipped in eight points and dished out five assists.

At home against Monroe’s Trojans the Indians came from behind for the win after being down 16-9 after the opening quarter. Tecumseh outscored Monroe 13-3 in the second quarter to end the first half with a 22-19 lead.

The Indians held the Trojans from the net the entire third quarter while adding five points for a 27-19 advantage going into the final quarter. Monroe finished the contest outscoring Tecumseh 16-14 in the fourth quarter but the Indians had secured enough points for the win.

Galloway led the Indians offense with 16 points while LaPlant added 10 points. Kormos chipped in eight points while Wright added five.

Tecumseh (3-3) is scheduled to play at home against Clinton (2-5) on Friday, Jan. 4.

Copyright © 2015
Herald Publishing Company
Surf New Media