Indians have four named to All-Star team

Four Tecumseh High School softball players were selected for the Michigan High School Softball Coaches Association Division 2 All-Star game scheduled at Michigan State University on Wednesday, July 24 at 3:30 p.m.Tecumseh pitcher Emily Maves, third baseman Kelsea Kaliszuk and outfielders Kelsey Rendell and Kylie Hill were selected to represent the Indians’ 2013 state championship softball team.Tecumseh won its third state championship this year by beating No. 1 ranked Stevensville Lakeshore 5-1 in the quarterfinals, eliminating the defending state champions, Livonia Ladywood, in the semifinals with an 8-0 shutout victory and easily handling the 2012 state runner-up Saginaw Swan Valley in the championship game, winning 5-1.Maves went 14-2 in the regular season with a 1.42 ERA and 118 strikeouts. She allowed only one earned run over the final three games of the postseason.Kaliszuk batted .570 with 12 doubles, three triples and 35 RBIs for the Indians.Rendell batted .467 with 16 doubles, eight home runs, 41 RBIs and 32 runs. She earned All-Southeastern Conference White and All-State honors.Hill hit .446 with 30 RBIs, while also earning All-SEC White and All-State honors.Clinton infielder Keely Quiring and pitcher Cami Prater received honorable mentions to the Division 3 team.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content