Indians outstroke Maples

In its final regular season meet of the season on Thursday, Feb. 14, Tecumseh’s varsity boys swim and dive team out stroked visiting Adrian for a 116-70 victory.The win improved the Indians’ record to 7-3 overall.Adrian appeared to be in control of the first three races with swimmers taking early leads. However in all three events the Indians came from behind and placed first, with state qualifying times.In the first event, the 200-yard medley relay, Tecumseh (Matt Haeussler, Ian Russell, Isaac Bhathena, Jacob Kimerer) was behind the Maples until the last swimmer pulled ahead in the final leg to clock in at 1:45.45.Adrian’s Matt Mueller led the 200-yard freestyle until the final lap when Tecumseh’s Bryant Hagemann charged ahead for first place with a time of 1:54.98. Mueller clocked in at 1:55.50 while Tecumseh’s Austin Coleman was third in 1:56.08.Ian Russell pulled away from Adrian’s Ian Moran in the final leg of the 200 IM and placed first with a time of 2:05.79. Moran touched the wall in 2:10.10 while Tecumseh’s Jared Russell was third in 2:21.21.Russell was also first in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:03.24). Adrian’s Khayman Jones was second (1:09.86) while Tecumseh’s Clinton Olberg (1:18.05) was third.Isaac Bhathena placed first in the 50-yard freestyle for Tecumseh with a time of 22.96 while Adrian’s Casey Kucera placed second in 23.34. Tecumseh’s Kimerer placed third in 24.20.Tecumseh sophomore Collin Eberle scored 223.90 in diving to place first ahead of Adrian’s Khayman Jones (221.45) and Jeff Miller (211.95).Kucera placed first for the Maples in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 57.13 while Bhathena placed second in 59.28 for Tecumseh. Matt Haeussler was third for the Indians with a time of 1:02.83.Coleman placed first in the 100-yard freestyle for Tecumseh with a time of 51.66 while Adrian’s Matt Mueller was second in 52.33. Kimerer placed third (53.53) for Tecumseh.The Indians placed first (Hagemann, 5:21.72) and third (Samual Wade, 6:05.26) in the 500-yard freestyle while the Maples placed second (Nick Sarrault, 5:29.58).Tecumseh finished first in the 200-yard freestyle relay (Bhathena, Kimerer, Coleman, Hagemann) with a time of 1:34.16 while Adrian was second (Kucera, Moran, Mueller, Jones, 1:34.98) and third (Michael Macher, Matt Baucher, Andrew DeVries, Nick Sarrault, 1:51.92).Moran placed first for Adrian in the 100-yard backstroke (1:00.30) while Tecumseh’s Haeussler (1:01.55) was second and Jared Russell (1:02.05) third.Tecumseh closed all competition with a first place finish in the 400-yard freestyle relay (Austin Coleman, Hagemann, Haeussler, Ian Russell, 3:38.73) while Adrian placed second (Baucher, Sarrault, Nate Fischer, Mueller, 3:59.34). Tecumseh also placed third (Dylan Coleman, Jared Russell, Samual Wade, Olberg, 4:01.44).The Indians are scheduled to compete next at Chelsea on February 22-23 in the Southeastern Conference tournament.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Please Login for Premium Content