Public safety departments on agenda for Raisin board

Raisin Township trustees will continue a discussion on the future of the township’s public safety structure as an agenda item on Monday, March 4. The meeting, which begins at 6:30 p.m. in the Fire Department Meeting Room at the Township Office, 5525 Occidental Hwy., is a week earlier this month due to a Board of Review meeting scheduled for March 11.Raisin Township Supervisor Jay Cavanaugh said meetings have taken place between himself and Fire Chief Rick Renard regarding how the Fire Department will operate after Renard leaves his position this week. Renard resigned last month and has accepted a new position with Aramark in its property management division in Warren.“We’ll be having discussions toward making a decision as to whether to keep the fire and law enforcement departments separate as they are now or moving toward one public safety structure,” said Cavanaugh. He said Renard has been working with Police Chief Scott Lambka, along with Fire Department captains Eddie Mattheson and Jake Warner as he wraps up his fire service career at the township. “They each have a significant amount of experience,” Cavanaugh said.Other items on the March 4 agenda include: Dump Day, River Raisin Watershed, Tecumseh Area Little League, Chipper, Poverty Hardship, and Board Appointments.In April, the township meeting will resume its schedule as taking place on the second Monday of each month.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content