Raisin Township taking road surveys

The Charter Township of Raisin is seeking public input in order to make a more informed decision about future maintenance and repair of township roads. A 20-question survey was launched Wednesday, June 12, online and is accessible by visiting www.raisintownship.com.“Our new website is still under construction, but there is a link there to take the survey,” said Jay Cavanaugh, Raisin Township Supervisor. “We have paper copies available as well, and they can be picked up at the Township Office [5525 Occidental Hwy.].”The Raisin Township Board of Trustees reviewed the survey at its last meeting on June 10, and Cavanaugh made the recommended changes following that session. The board has been exploring how to best approach the fact that many of the township’s roads are deteriorating at a time when there are few budgetary options to pay for repairs and maintenance. One of the ideas being considered is to pursue a dedicated millage for road repair and maintenance.At the last meeting, Cavanaugh pointed out that the survey would help give township officials a better idea as to the thoughts and potential support of residents for addressing the issue.The survey will be active for approximately one month, since other steps and actions must be taken if the board decides to put a millage on the ballot, each having established deadlines. For more information on the survey, call the Raisin Township office at 423.3162.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content