Rev. Max Bailey

Rev. Max Bailey, 95, passed away Wednesday, April 17, 2013, in Grand Rapids, Mich.Max was born to Andrew N. and Charlotte E. (Preble) Bailey on June 17, 1917, in Pipestone Twp., Berrien Co., Mich. He graduated as class salutatorian from Eau Claire High School in 1935 and received the American Legion School Award.After high school he entered the Berrien County Teachers Normal School, in Bridgman. A year later in 1936, he began teaching in a one-room rural school in Van Buren Co. He received a Bachelor of Arts Degree in July of 1954 and then a Master of Arts Degree in July of 1959, both from Western Michigan University. For 38 years, he was a teacher, principal, and superintendent in a number of Michigan public schools.He was ordained as a Minister of the United Church of Christ, June 21, 1964.Max married Virginia Frieda Haselbeck, August 8, 1951, South Bend, Ind. Max and 'Ginny’ were married for over 56 years, before she preceded him in death on October 16, 2007. Max is survived by his daughter, Ginger (Dexter) Carrick of Traverse City; his sons, Bill Bailey of Kentwood, Owen (Tina) Bailey of Kingston, Rhode Island; his four grandchildren, Darcia (James) Brewer, Nathan Carrick, Jessica (Barry) DeJong, Justine Bailey; and three great-grandchildren, James and Shaelyn Brewer and Caroline DeJong. He is also survived by several nephews and nieces.Max is preceded in death by his two brothers, George Preble 'G.P.’ Bailey of Eau Claire, Mich., and Dr. Worth Andrew Bailey of Cheektowaga, New York.Memorial donations may be given to the church or charity of your choice. Arrangements were entrusted to the J. Gilbert Purse Funeral Home, Tecumseh.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content