Tecumseh beats Dundee for first season victory

Tecumseh’s varsity girls swim and dive team defeated Dundee 120-66 on Tuesday, Sept. 11, for its first victory of the season.Rachel Waite highlighted the event with a first place state cut time of 2:16.89 in the 200 IM.She also won the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 1:08.71 while Jennifer Gozdor was third in 1:26.61.Waite was a member of the Indians’ winning 200-yard medley relay team, with Alison Eubanks, Mackenzie Foss and Nicole Greene clocking in at 2:09.22, and the first place 400-yard freestyle relay (4:09.29).Green also placed first in the 100-yard freestyle (59.65) and the 100-yard breaststroke (1:07.35).Elizabeth Becker placed first in the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 2:24.84 while Kelsey Smith was second (2:26.47).Nicole Collins won the 50-yard freestyle (29.57) and was second in the 100-yard freestyle (1:04.81). Foss was third in the 100-yard freestyle (1:05.5).Sarah Kelly placed first for Tecumseh in diving with a score of 193.30 while teammate Jillian Travis was third with 158.25.Tecumseh’s Kelsey Smith placed first in the 500-yard freestyle (6:22.59), while Karly Smith won the 100-yard breaststroke (1:20.13). Becker placed second in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:25.62).The Indians lost 104-82 at Monroe on Thursday, Sept. 13.Waite placed first in both the 200-yard IM (2:19.09) and the 100-yard butterfly (1:02.65).Tecumseh also had a solid showing in diving with Kelly placing first (175.45), Travis, second (145.25) and Alison Eubanks, third (119.00).Foss placed second in the 500-yard freestyle (6:14.07) while Becker was second in the 200-yard freestyle (2:20.03).Tecumseh’s 400-yard freestyle relay team (Kelsey Smith, Foss, Karly Smith, Becker, 4:30.98) placed second.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content