Tecumseh to face Adrian in District basketball final

  • strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 906.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_argument::init() should be compatible with views_handler::init(&$view, $options) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_argument.inc on line 744.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter.inc on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_submit() should be compatible with views_handler::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter.inc on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter_boolean_operator::value_validate() should be compatible with views_handler_filter::value_validate($form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter_boolean_operator.inc on line 159.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_validate() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_validate(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_row.inc on line 134.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_submit(&$form, &$form_state) in /home/tecumseh/public_html/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_row.inc on line 134.
Tecumseh's varsity boys basketball team. Herald file photo by Jim Lincoln.

Tecumseh High School’s varsity boys basketball team defeated Airport 35-32 on Wednesday, March 6, at Dundee in the Class B District semifinal. The win advances the Indians to the District championship on Friday, March 8, against Adrian, beginning at 7 p.m.

The Maples defeated Dundee 59-40 to set up the rematch against Tecumseh. The two teams split their games during the regular season. Adrian defeated Tecumseh 41-39 at home in the first meeting between the teams this season. Tecumseh beat the Maples 45-39 when the teams met a second time in the Indians’ gymnasium.

Against Airport in the semifinal, the Indians were down 10-6 at the end of the first quarter and the Jets increased their lead to 22-16 by the end of the first half.

Tecumseh allowed Airport just two more points in the third quarter while adding 11 to take a 27-24 lead. Kyle Bryan led the Indians in the second half, scoring four points in the third quarter and seven in the fourth. Both teams scored eight points in the fourth quarter to end the game.

Bryan scored 13 points had seven rebounds to lead the Indians to the big victory. Casey Hunt added eight points and five rebounds while Ben Kasper chipped in seven points and four rebounds for Tecumseh.

Copyright © 2015
Herald Publishing Company
Surf New Media