Tecumseh first at own Phillip Jaimes Memorial Tournament

Seven of Tecumseh’s varsity wrestlers went undefeated to help the Indians place first in their Annual Phillip Jaimes Memorial Wrestling Tournament at home on Saturday, Jan. 18.The last time the Indians won the tournament was in 2011. The top three teams received trophies and medals went to wrestlers going undefeated with a minimum of three victories.Tecumseh was undefeated with a record of 5-0 to place first while Plymouth went 4-1 to place second. Canton also went 4-1 and placed third while Swan Valley went 3-2 to place fourth.Rounding out the competing teams were Battle Creek Lakeview (3-2), Parma Western (2-3), Novi (2-3), Lapeer West (1-4), Tecumseh Orange (1-4) and Allen Park (0-5).Tecumseh Black defeated Novi (67-9), Canton (52-27), Allen Park (67-9) and Parma Western (56-14) in Pool Play. The Indians advanced to the final and defeated Plymouth 41-24 for the title. The Indians also entered a Tecumseh “Orange” team that placed ninth overall with a 38-31 victory over Allen Park.Going undefeated for Tecumseh were Ricky Azelton (103), Drew Marten (112), Wyatt Cadmus (130), Kody McCrate (189), Landon Pelham (215), Preston Pelham (285) and Kolin Connors (285).Tecumseh improved its overall record to 24-2 overall with the wins.The Indians traveled to Dexter on Wednesday, Jan. 22, for a Southeastern Conference quad meet, wrestling both Dexter and Monroe. Tecumseh defeated Dexter 55-11 and Monroe 45-24.Tecumseh is now 26-2 overall and 10-0 in the Southeastern Conference.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • Pictured (l-r) are: Jane Woodward-Harrington, Gordon Comfort, Martha Hayden-Woodward, Rob Hartmann, Ruth Satterthwaite Hartmann, Rae Nita Heintzelman and Raymond Schmidt. Photo by Mickey Alvarado.

    Thu, 08/25/2016 - 1:16pm
  • Tecumseh resident Cinda Brooks adopted a blind 10-year-old Labrador in January from the Lenawee Humane Society. It is Brook’s third dog she has rescued from the Adrian shelter. Photo by Jim LIncoln.

    Thu, 08/25/2016 - 1:14pm
  • The Irish roots group, Runa, will perform at the TCA in February. Photo submitted.

    Thu, 08/25/2016 - 1:11pm

Please Login for Premium Content