Tecumseh kids shine at annual Kiwanis Invitational

Tecumseh junior Nathan Roberts placed second in the Kiwanis Invitational junior/senior 200-yard freestyle. Photo by Mickey Alvarado.

Several Tecumseh High School varsity swim team members were champions of events at the Indians’ annual Men’s Kiwanis Invitational on Saturday, Jan. 8 at the Tecumseh Community Pool.
A moment of silence was observed in honor of Jacob Schaedler, a Tecumseh varsity swimmer who recently lost his life, before the events began.
The invitational does not record team totals but highlights individuals with two divisions, freshmen/sophomore (fresh/soph.) and junior/senior (jr./sr.). Schools participating included the hosts, Tecumseh, Adrian, Bedford, Lincoln and Ypsilanti.
Bedford led the invitational with 15 first place finishes while Tecumseh had six. Lincoln placed first in one event.
Tecumseh’s Nick Solarski placed first in fresh./soph. diving as the lone competitor with 268.45 points.
Riley Russell placed first for Tecumseh in the fresh./soph. 200 IM with a time of 2:18.50.
Tecumseh’s Brandon Russell placed first in the jr./sr. 50-yard freestyle with a time of 23.72.
The Indians’ jr./sr. 200-yard freestyle relay team of Brandon Russell, Nathan Roberts, Joe Figurski and Samuel Wade placed first with a time of 1:42.47.
Riley Moore placed first in the jr./sr. 100-yard backstroke (1:08.15) while Thomas Mitchell placed first for the Indians in the jr./sr. 100-yard breaststroke (1:15.01).
Placing second for Tecumseh were: Ray Vigo (jr./sr. diving, 307.40); jr./sr. 200-yard medley relay team (Riley Moore, Clinton Olberg, Figurski, Alex McDowell, 2:03.27); Nathan Roberts (jr./sr. 200-freestyle, 2:03.23); Riley Russell  (fresh./soph. 100-yard butterfly, 1:06.75); Brandon Russell, (jr./sr. 100-yard freestyle, 52.34); Cole Wanzeck (fresh./soph. 100-yard backstroke, 1:09.81); and the jr./sr. 400-yard freestyle relay team (Brandon Russell, Roberts, Moore, Olberg).
Third place finishers for the Indians were: Olberg (jr./sr. 200 IM, 2:25.85); Nathan Roberts (jr./sr. 100-yard butterfly, 1:01.91); McDowell (jr./sr. 500-yard freestyle, 5:59.92); Kyle Mitchell (fresh./soph. 100-yard backstroke, 1:13.76); and the fresh./soph. 400-yard freestyle relay team (Riley Russell, Wanzeck, Andrew Hober, Mitchell, 4:07.57).


Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

Please Login for Premium Content