Tecumseh Pops Orchestra, Community Chorus to present ‘Ring in the Season’

The Tecumseh Pops Orchestra and Community Chorus will bring “Ring in the Season,” to the Tecumseh Center for the Arts on Sunday, Dec. 2, at 3:30 p.m. The performance is a concert featuring holiday and seasonal music performed by both groups. The concert will also include the Tecumseh United Methodist Church Caroliers Bell Choir, who will ‘ring in’ the concert beginning at 3:30 p.m.The orchestra selections include: “The Bells of St. Mary’s,” featuring Mary Hofmeister, soprano; “Thunder and Lightning or Donder and Blitzen Polka,” by Johann Strauss; “A Christmas Festival,” by Leroy Anderson; and “Babes in Toyland,” by Victor Herbert.Some of the choral pieces include, “Sicilian Bagpipers’ Carol,” arranged by Katherina K. Davis; “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring,” by Johann Sebastian Bach and featuring Carolyn Dicks on piano; “Jamaican Noel,” by Kirby Shaw; and “Believe,” by Glen Ballard and Alan Silvestri from the movie The Polar Express. The concert will conclude with a combined performance of “The Halleluiah Chorus,” by Handel and “Christmas Bells are Ringing,” arranged by Mark Hayes.The Tecumseh Pops Orchestra is under the direction of Dr. James Ball, music director for the Tecumseh Pops Organization. The Tecumseh Community Chorus is under the direction of Mary Hofmeister.Tickets may be purchased at the Tecumseh Center for the Arts at $10 for adults and $7 for seniors and students. The Tecumseh Center for the Arts is located at 400 N. Maumee Street in Tecumseh. The phone number is 517.423.6617. Tickets may also be purchased in advance through the box office or by phone or online at www.thetca.org.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

Please Login for Premium Content