Tecumseh runs first

Tecumseh’s varsity cross-country teams placed first at the County Championship meet at Blissfield’s Gerber Park on Saturday, Oct. 13.Tecumseh’s girls scored 79 points for first place while Blissfield totaled 94 points for second and Briton Deerfield 109 for third.Katie Kasper placed first for the Indians with a time of 20:24 while teammate Jessica Tebbetts was eighth in 21:16. Also medaling were Tecumseh’s Hannah Weatherford (20th, 22:49), Zoe Melnyk (24th, 22:40), Kendra Randolph (26th, 22:49) and Nicole Lipnichan (30, 23:03).“I was very proud of the girls today with their first place overall team finish,” said Tecumseh coach Jill Stockford. “Katie ran from the front for the entire race to earn her first ever individual title for any race in her high school career and showed why she now ranks high on the list of all-time top Tecumseh runners.Tecumseh’s boys placed first with 58 points while Adrian was second with 60 points.The Indians had six runners medal including Max Miller (7th, 18:00), Drake Vandenberg (8th, 18:00), Anthony Lesko (10th, 18:01), Matt Maki (12th, 18:09), Gabe Lopez (21st, 18:32) and Will Collings (25th, 18:45).“This win was especially sweet, because the girls also won,” said Tecumseh coach Eddy Foley. “I feel like our program is finally coming around to where Jill Stockford and I knew they could be at the start of the season.“In addition to our team success, I am also proud of our nine personal records and two season bests this week.”

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • Pictured at the groundbreaking are Hickman family members (l-r) Cindy and Alan Hickman, Reagan Boyse, Stephanie Hickman Boyse, Sally and Steve Hickman, Tracy Hickman and Chad Munger, Annabelle Burg, Julie Hickman Burg, and Shelley and Dave Hickman. Not pictured are two brothers, Mark (Christine) and Ross Hickman. Photo by: Kerry Hamilton Smith

    Thu, 06/22/2017 - 2:06pm
  • Ken Roberts (l) and his dad, Al, pictured at Lone Oak Properties of Red Mill Pond. Photo by: Jim Lincoln

    Thu, 06/22/2017 - 2:05pm
  • Pictured (l-r) are Barry and Linda Seidel with new owners of the consignment store Tammy and Jamie Drouillard. Photo by: Kerry Hamilton Smith

    Thu, 06/22/2017 - 2:04pm

Please Login for Premium Content