Tecumseh wins Clinton's Annual Volleyball Invitational

Not a single team could muster up a match win against Tecumseh’s varsity volleyball team on Saturday, Sept. 7, as the Indians dominated all opponents to win the Clinton Redskins’ 26th Annual Varsity Volleyball Invitational.Tecumseh went 6-0 in pool play to become the number one seed going into bracket action. The Indians defeated Clinton 25-11, 25-15 in the final pool play match. Tecumseh previously defeated Lenawee Christian School 25-14 25-19 and Grass Lake 25-10 25-13 to start the day.The Indians easily handled Britton Deerfield in the opening quarterfinal match for a 25-16 victory but the Patriots forced the issue in the second match before falling 28-26 to the Indians.Tecumseh easily handled Manchester in the semifinal, winning 25-14 25-16 before beating Ann Arbor Greenhills 25-21, 25-19 in the championship final.In pool play, Clinton defeated Grass Lake 26-24, 25-19 and LCS 25-19, 25-20 before falling 25-11, 25-15 to Tecumseh. Manchester defeated Clinton 9-25, 25-14, 15-8) in the quarterfinals. Tecumseh’s leaders included: Morgan Skelton (48 kills, 36 digs, served 68-73 with 51 points, 10 aces); Sam Root (105 assists); Hannah Galloway (45 kills, 10 aces, 7 blocks); Karmyn Wilford (41 digs), Taylor Mareches (6 blocks) and Mykenzie Niemann (6 blocks).Clinton’s leaders included: Rachel Cornish (5 aces, 24 points, 34 kills 59 digs, 4 blocks); Abi Schaffner (3 aces, 8 points, 23 digs); Payton Hoelzer (3 aces, 8 points, 92 digs); MaryAnna Burnham (21 points, 57 assists, 24 digs); Aleya Quiring (12 points, 39 digs) and Jordan Pizzo (10 kills, 4 points, 10 digs).In Tecumseh’s previous match at home against Ida, the Indians lost 27-25, 25-19, 14-25, 21-25, 12-15.The Indians’ leaders included: Galloway (16 kills, 14 digs, 6 blocks, 3 aces); Sam Root (36 assists); Skelton (15 kills, served 17-17, 9 points, 9 digs) and Mareches (6 blocks).

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

  • A mangled car outside THS is a reminder of how drinking and driving can have tragic effects. Photo by Kerry Hamilton Smith.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:36am
  • The Lenawee Leadership Award, given to individuals who lead in enhancing the quality of life in Lenawee County, was presented to Kris and Emory Schmidt on Tuesday morning at the annual meeting of the Lenawee Community Foundation held at the Lenawee Country Club. Prior recipients of the award who were present at the event gathered with the Schmidts to be recognized. Pictured are standing, from left, Janet McDowell, Gary McDowell, Dave Maxwell, Frank Dick, Dave Hickman, Kris Schmidt, Emory Schmidt, Art Weeber, Dick Germond, Joe Williams, Mary Weeber, Pat Farver and Garry Clift. Photo by Jackie Koch.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:32am
  • Perry Hayden, founder of the Dynamic Kernels project.

    Thu, 04/27/2017 - 9:26am

Please Login for Premium Content