Tribe's swim and dive team picks up win against Lincoln, loses to Skyline

Despite losing its home varsity boys swim and dive meet 121-65 to visiting Ann Arbor Skyline High School on Thursday, Jan. 23, Tecumseh’s Indians had several achievements to be excited about. Two state cut times and 28 best times were recorded by the Indians during the swim and dive meet. Bryant Hagemann placed first in the 200-yard freestyle with a state cut time of 1:52.30 while Matthew Haeussler was first in the 200 IM with a state cut time of 2:10.43.Two other first place finishes were recorded by the Indians. Collin Eberle was first in diving with a score of 227.10 while Jared Russell was first in the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 59.42.Hagemann also placed second in the 500-yard freestyle (5:06.05). Skyline’s Ryan Vander Meulen won the race in 4:48.71.Haeussler also placed second in the 100-yard backstroke in 59.42.Coleman placed second in the 100-yard butterfly (59.49). Skyline’s Daniel Schorin won the race in 59.48.The Indians’ 200-yard medley relay team of Haeussler, Jared Russell, Dylan Coleman and Jacob Schaedler tied for second place with a time of 1:49.91.Tecumseh’s 400-yard freestyle team of Coleman, Hagemann, Haeussler and Russell placed second in 3:34.11.Tecumseh defeated Lincoln 101-69 in its previous meet on Tuesday, Jan. 21, winning eight of 12 events.In the first event of the evening the Indians’ placed first in the 200-yard freestyle relay with Haeussler, Russell, Coleman and Hagemann clocking in at 1:50.47.Schaedler followed with a first place finish in the 200-yard freestyle (2:09.86).Russell won the 200 IM (2:11.60) while Coleman was first in the 50-yard freestyle (24.34).Eberle was on the top step of the podium with a first place in diving (225).Lincoln won the 100-yard butterfly (Nathan Wagner, 1:04.43) and the 100-yard freestyle (Ty Shingledecker, 53.27) before Tecumseh’s Samual Wade picked up another first place for the Indians in the 500-yard freestyle (5:52.83).Lincoln earned another win in the 200-yard freestyle relay (Khari Wilcox, Cody Kincaid, Jake Rogers, Danny Rogers, 2:08.57).Tecumseh won the last two races. Clinton Olberg placed first in the 100-yard breaststroke in a time of 1:14.60 and the 400-yard freestyle relay team of Coleman, Russell, Hagemann and Haeussler placing first with a time of 3:33.66.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

Please Login for Premium Content