Waite wins state championship

Tecumseh High School garnered another state champion on Saturday, Nov. 17 with senior swimmer Rachel Waite placing first in a Michigan High School Athletic Association (MHSAA) Division 3 swimming event at Eastern Michigan University.As a team the Indians placed 17th with 43 points, dropping five spots from last year’s finish, however Waite’s state championship was Tecumseh’s first in swimming since 2008 when Scott Yarbrough picked up a state title with a win in the 100-yard breaststroke. A banner with Waite’s name and accomplishment will hang in Tecumseh’s gymnasium next to state champion bowler Kara Richards, the last Indian to win a state title (2010). Waite’s victory gives Tecumseh four years of consecutive individual state titles with Tawni Vollmer also winning a state bowling championship in 2009.The Indians’ banners first highlight a swimming state title in 1992 with Linda Finnama crowned champion in the 50-yard freestyle. Tecumseh followed with four state diving champions in Marissa Proctor (1993), Geno Rebottaro (1997), Mark Koropscak (1998) and Joanna Corby (2004).In 2008, Yarbrough was also a member of the Indians state championship 200-yard Medley relay (Yarbrough, Nick Dillon, Jordan Lillie, Neil Palmer), giving Tecumseh’s swim and dive program eight state titles between the girls and boys. For those keeping count the girls and boys are now tied 4-4 with titles in the swimming programs with Waite’s win.Waite won her state championship in the 100-yard breaststroke with a first place time of 1:05.48. She also finished third in the 200 IM with a time of 2:10.13.Waite will continue swimming after graduation. She recently signed with NCAA Division I Oakland University where she will pursue a nursing degree.Lenawee County produced two state champions at EMU’s Jones Pool in the Division 3 state meet. Adrian junior Jennifer Wagley placed first in the 100-yard butterfly for a state title. Wagley placed first with a time of 57.11 and also finished second in the 200-yard individual medley (2:09.09).The Maples placed seventh in Division 3 with 106 1/2 points after placing 10th last season.Cranbrook Kingswood won the Division 3 team championship with 361 points, followed by Bloomfield Hills Lahser (211), Hamilton (168 1/2), Holland Christian (157), Plainwell (140) and Detroit Country Day (118).Tecumseh senior Nicole Greene finished 16th in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 56.03.The Indians’ 200-yard medley relay team (Greene, Waite, junior Jennifer Gozdor, senior Nicole Collins) placed 15th with a time of 1:57.69. Tecumseh’s 200-yard freestyle relay team (Greene, senior Karly Smith, Collins, senior Kelsey Smith) placed 16th with a time of 1:48.51.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

Please Login for Premium Content