Cross-country finals run at MIS


Hundreds of cross-country runners representing Michigan's four division's competed at Michigan International Speedway on Saturday, Nov. 1, to determine the best teams and individual distance runners the state has to offer in high school athletics.

In Tecumseh high school's return appearance to the Division 2 race, the Indians finished 24th, led by sophomore Leon Miller's personal best run of 16:38.6 for 48th place as a team runner and 71st overall as an individual in a field of 252. The race was won by junior Reed Kamyszek of Grand Rapids Kenowa Hills with a time of 15:32.2. He was one of only 21 runners who came in under 16:00.

Linden won the team title with 59 points while Vicksburg was second (174) and Ostego finished third (191). The Indians totaled 568 points for 24th place out of the 28-team field. Last year Tecumseh finished 23rd overall.

Miller was followed by junior Josh Short who placed 102nd for the team and 146th as an Individual runner with a time of 17:21.5. Tecumseh senior Matt Roberts finished 114th for the team and was 163rd as an individual with a time of 17:31.0. Also scoring for the Indians were senior Calvin Heim (139th-T, 192nd-I. 17:53.2), junior Austin See (165th-T, 221st-I, 18:25.8), junior Dan Robertson (166th-T, 222nd-I) and freshman Joe Forest (169th-T, 225th-I, 18:29.4).

Ann Arbor Pioneer won the Division 1 boys race while Stephen Walker of Midland Dow won as an individual in a time of 15:18.6.

Shephard won the Division 3 boys team title while Tony Schafer of Grand Rapids West Catholic won the race in a time of 15:23.8.

Potterville placed first in the Division 4 boys race with 129 points while Lenawee Christian finished as runners up with 131. Tec Adams of Harbor Springs                        won the race in a time of 15:22.4.

Tecumseh's girls team did not qualify this season after a fourth place finish at the regionals. The Indians did however send two individuals, seniors Jordyn Harrison and Grace Kelley. Harrison finished 37th overall with a time of 19:10.2 while Kelley placed 148th overall in 20:31.2.

Jordain Tomecek of Milan won the race with a time of 17:40.4. East Grand Rapids won the team title with 98 points while Grand Rapids Christian was second (166) and Williamston a close third (168).

Britton-Deerfield was unable to qualify a Division 4 team for the state event but did send Rachel Smith to represent the girls. She finished 62nd with a time of 20:52.6.

Harbor Springs won the Division 4 girls race while Bridget Bennett of Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart won the event in a time of 18:36.7.

Benzie Central won the Division 3 girls event while Devan John of Allendale                             won the race in a time of 18:06.2.

Traverse City Central won the Division 1 girls team title while Megan Goethals of Rochester won the race in a time of 17:10.1.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

Please Login for Premium Content