Voters head to polls Tuesday, Aug. 7, for primary election

There will be several races, along with some uncontested seats across the county in Lenawee County’s 2012 Primary Election on Tuesday, Aug. 7. Two proposals regarding senior citizen millage will be on the ballot for all county voters, while some communities have school or fire millage renewals.A ballot proposal to increase senior millage by .25 mills is a tax increase on real and tangible personal property (.25 per $1,000 on taxable value). The levy is proposed to run 2012 through 2019 for the purpose of providing necessary services for senior citizens within the county. If approved and levied, the requested millage would provide estimated revenues of $791,823 during the 2013 calendar year and will cost the owner of a home with a market value of $100,000 approximately $12.50 per year.Lenawee County Department on Aging Director, Tom MacNaughton, who has led a campaign for the millage, said the increase is needed to maintain current services for a growing population of older citizens and to help them remain in their homes longer. The increase would avert spending cuts that could mean closing seven senior centers in the county and putting people on waiting lists for home care services.Also on the countywide ballot is a reauthorization millage proposal for the Lenawee Medical Care Facility, which levies not more than 0.1896 of a mill (0.1896 cents per $1,000 of taxable value) for a period of six years, from December 1, 2012, to Nov. 30, 2018, inclusive, to provide funds for the operation, maintenance and capital costs of the Lenawee Medical Care Facility, which would raise an estimated $600,519 in the first year of the levy.Voters will also choose among the following candidates and proposals during the primary election:United States Senator: voters will decide who will square off in November against Democratic Senator Debbie Stabenow, from Republicans Clark Durant, Gary Glenn, Randy Hekman, and Pete Hoekstra.7th District – U.S. Representative in Congress: Republicans on the ballot are: Dan Davis, Riga; and incumbent Tim Walberg, Jackson. Democrats are: Kurt Richard Haskell, Newport; and Ruben Marquez, Jackson.57th District State Representative: Democrats Jim Berryman, Adrian, and Harvey E. Schmidt, Tecumseh, will square off to see who will face Republican Nancy Jenkins, Clayton, in November. County Commission races affecting Tecumseh and the surrounding communities include the following:District 1, Tecumseh City, Tecumseh Township: Incumbent David M. Stimpson will face Democrat Gayle Keiser in the November election.District 8, Adrian Township, Precinct 2, and Raisin Township: Republican Tim Simpson, Britton, is challenging Republican incumbent Ralph Tillotson, Adrian, in the primary. District 9, Adrian Township, Pct. 1, Clinton Township, Franklin Township, Macon Township: Republican Chris W. Henback, Clinton, will face Democrat Todd M. Morgan, Clinton, in the November election.Clinton Township: Clinton Township has one proposal on the Aug. 7 primary election. Voters will be asked to renew the fire department operation millage. The levy will not exceed 1.6 mills on the taxable value of property at a rate of $1.60 per $1,000 in taxable value. This will be for a period of eight years, 2012 through 2019. It will be allowable for the levy to exceed the 15 mill limitation on general ad valorem taxes imposed under the Michigan Constitution. This levy will raise $188,000 for the fire department the first year.The Republican primary race for the four-year term positions in Clinton Township are all uncontested, including Phillip Reiser for Township Supervisor, Cheryl Matzinger for Township Clerk, Joanna Thompson for Township Treasurer, and Basil R. Greenleaf and William Zimmerman for Township Trustees.Franklin Township: The Republican primary race for Treasurer in Franklin Township is between Terri Moore and Nancy Wibbeler. The other four-year terms are uncontested and include Robert W. Platt for Township Supervisor, Sue Whitehead for Township Clerk, Michael C. Kelley and Daniel Van Valkenburg for Township Trustees, and Larry K. Wibbeler for Township Constable.Charter Township of Raisin: Republicans Kami Johnson, Adrian, and Meredith A. Matthews, Adrian, will vie for the right to face Democrat DeLight Sieler, Adrian, for the position of Treasurer. Uncontested are Carl F. Wagner as Supervisor; Betty Holdridge, Clerk. Trustees on the ballot, to be decided in November, are: Republicans Debra L. Brousseau, Adrian, Larry L. Crittenden, Tecumseh, Tom Hawkins, Tecumseh, Dale F. Mitchell, Adrian, and Democrat James H. Palmer, Tecumseh. Part of Raisin Township is in the Blissfield Community School District and will decide on an operating millage renewal proposal on non-homestead property at the statutory rate of 18 mills for a five-year period.Macon Township: Macon Township has two millage renewals on the ballot for this election. The Road Millage Renewal is for 1.4979 mills ($1.4979 per $1,000 taxable value) with an increase of .0021 mills ($.0021 per $1,000 of taxable value) to bring it to the original 1.5000 mills for four years, 2013 through 2016. The millage is for road maintenance and improvement in the township and is expected to raise $92,034 during the first year.The Fire Millage Renewal is for .4993 mills ($.4993 per $1,000 of taxable value) and an increase of .0007 mills ($.0007 per $1,000 of taxable value), to bring it to the original .5000 mills for four years, 2013 through 2016. This millage is for fire protection and will raise $30,678 in the first year.The township Republican primary races are all uncontested four-year terms, including Lee Wagner for Township Supervisor, Beth E. Loesch for Township Clerk, Beth DeJonghe for Township Treasurer, and Edward H. Clark and David A. Wielfaert for the two Township Trustee positions. Ridgeway Township: The only millage issue on the ballot in Ridgeway Township is the Blissfield Schools operating millage for 18 mills, with only one contested race in the Republican primary. Deborah A. Marks and Yvonne Pape McNicol are running for the four-year term of Township Treasurer. Other uncontested races include Robert L. Downing for Township Supervisor, Peggy L. Taylor-Albaugh for Township Clerk, and Marc H. Brown and Daniel J. Prielipp for the two Township Trustee positions.Tecumseh Township: Offices remain uncontested as follows: Roy Schlegel, Republican, Supervisor; Curtis Brown, Republican, Clerk; Rick L. Bunch, Treasurer. Trustees on the ballot are Republicans Michael Feight and Patricia L. Lamb.

Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

Please Login for Premium Content