School board earns respect for serving to support education

To the Editor,

January is School Board Recognition Month — a time to formally recognize the work of our volunteer school board members and to celebrate public education.

Our school board members are charged with the task of leading our district into the future. The decisions made today will impact students for years to come. We are so fortunate to live in a community where our school board members are committed to the highest level of leadership and accountability, assuring that all children succeed. 

It’s an exciting and challenging time in public education. School board members in Tecumseh Public Schools develop policies and make tough decisions in allocating resources that help shape the future of our education system. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $26 million, 2,945 students, 300-plus employees and seven buildings. They are citizens whose decisions affect our children and build our community.

Our board of education, and the hundreds like it across the state, preserve the core of our democracy — public education. They ensure that decisions on school programming represent our community’s values, hopes, and dreams for our children.

Recognizing the important work that school boards do should be a year-round process; however, we often neglect to recognize the dedication and hard work of these men and women who serve our community. This January, the staff and students of our district are asking all members of the community to take a moment and thank a school board member.

Thank you to the men and women who dedicate countless personal hours to ensure the needs of the Tecumseh community are met by our public schools. We salute the Tecumseh Public Schools’ Board of Education, whose dedication make local control of public schools in our community possible. We applaud them for their vision and voice to prepare today’s students to be tomorrow’s leaders.

The men and women serving on the Tecumseh Public School’ Board of Education are: Dr. Edward Tritt, Jimmie Rice, Kimberly Amstutz-Wild, Deborah Johnson-Berges, Roger Hart, Greg Johnson and Steven Linn.

Kelly M. Coffin

Tecumseh Public School


Tecumseh Herald


110 E. Logan St.
P.O. Box 218
Tecumseh, MI 49286

Email Us


Latest articles

Please Login for Premium Content